Foodie Friday: Return of the O

After a decade and a slew of different flavored cookies (by the way the red velvet ones are great), Oreos are now back in cereal form with Oreo O’s. This time in a box the size of two family size cereal boxes. For those of y’all who were too young or weren’t even born, Oreo O’s was a cereal that launched in 1998 (I’ve seen 1997 on Wikipedia) as a joint product between Post Cereals and Kraft Foods with Post having the recipe and Kraft having the rights to the name. It was discontinued in 2007 everywhere except South Korea (I was tempted to try and order some through Amazon) due to Kraft selling Post off to Ralcorp Holdings and thus losing the rights to the recipe of the cereal and Post not having the copyright of the name.

oreo os1

But on June 23, 2017, Post released the cereal exclusively to Wal-Mart for three months. According to AdAge, the big retailer was the one who pushed for Oreo O’s to make a comeback after noticing high sales in what they considered “indulgent” cereals. If you’re wondering what in the world that means, they’re referring to cereals that aren’t the most nutritious, but are sweet and delicious (think about the time they offered a marshmallow-only box of Lucky Charms). Remember folks, it’s not that us Millennials aren’t eating cereal, we just prefer it as a snack than our breakfast.

For me, Oreo O’s is a more nostalgic cereal of the time when my dad was an active military member and we would have to eat at hotels in between moves. I still remember pouring a bowl into the plastic bowls we used while traveling while watching Saturday morning television next to my brother in our hotel room. It was only natural that I did a review on the product that is said to be “better than ever”.

I don’t know if I can say it’s better than ever, but it’s certainly still good.

 

First thing, this is not a healthy cereal and frankly, I don’t need it to be a healthy cereal. This is a cereal you eat for dessert because you want something that’s both sweet, yet quick and easy, it’s cheat day, or maybe you’re just not in a great mood.  It’s just as sweet as a regular Oreo cookie that you can eat with or without milk. It’s also great for those who like the cookies, but hate the creme in the middle (yes, there are folks who don’t like the creme. I’m related to one of them).

My only complaint is that the box is so huge. I’m guessing they’re trying to gauge the popularity of the cereal, but a smaller 12oz box would have sufficed. (Lord knows I’m not about to eat that cereal every morning!) I suppose if you like to make simple baked goods, you could try to make some cereal bars with the cereal or use it as a pie crust.

Overall, I give it a 4.5/5 and definitely recommend giving it a shot despite the size of the box. I’m pretty sure the cereal isn’t going to expire too quickly.

Sources:

Leave a Reply

