Foodie Friday: Japanese Kit-Kat

I’ve done quite a few reviews about Japanese Kit-Kats on this blog. One thing I haven’t mentioned is that I think the candies are better made overseas because Nestle does the Kit-Kats rather than Hershey who does the American Kit-Kats. You can especially see the difference here with this Kit-Kat inspired by the Chocolatory, a store in Japan that specializes in Kit-Kats.

20170314_14301020170314_143042

This candy is made with milk chocolate and has cranberries and almonds embedded on the top. It doesn’t have a big wow factor like the ones with pepper, but it’s a satisfying treat when you’re craving some chocolate.

What stood out to me was how different the candy was from American Kit-Kats even when you account for the almonds and cranberries. Despite having milk chocolate, the Japanese Kit-Kat is not as sweet as its American counterpart and you could be forgiven for thinking it was dark chocolate.

To see if it was just me, I’ve had a few others try the candy. My mom, who vastly prefers dark chocolate over milk chocolate, found the candy to be enjoyable and not as sweet as American Kit-Kats. I found the same response with others who tried the candy.

That made me wonder if we Americans are getting cheated from quality Kit-Kats because Nestle decided to lease out the name to Hershey (you can read about the deal here). Or perhaps it was just this particular Kit-Kat inspired by an even fancier Kit-Kat one can only get from Japan. Whatever the reason, my quest to sample Kit-Kats and other candies from around the world continues.

P.S. I purchased this bag from MT Supermarket in Austin, TX. Check your local Asian food store or try Amazon or eBay.

Leave a Reply

