Favorite Things I’ve Watched & Read in 2016

 

It’s the last day of 2016, but dang it, we’re going to have a list of my favorite media! Real quick, here are some of my favorite things I’ve read and watched in 2016.

Jughead

IMG_4494

I’m a big Archie fan. Since I was a little kid buying the digests from Wal-Mart, I loved reading the cheesy adventure of Archie and his gang. When I heard about the reboot and a focus on Jughead, one of my favorite characters, I had to check it out. I was not disappointed. Funny, cute, and thoughtful, this was one of the best comics I’ve read in a while. Check out my more detailed review here.

Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers comic

20161230_201101

Need something to tide you over while waiting for the movie? Always wished Mighty Morphin’ could do more with their characters? Then check out Boom Studios’ Power Rangers comic book that hosts new stories involving our six spandex clad teenagers.

Queen Sugar

This show is killing me with how its goodness. From the cinematography to the story to the acting, this is a show that really should have been talked about next to Atlanta and Insecure in showcasing the varied lives of modern Black Americans. I can’t wait for season 2 to grace our presence.

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

20161230_200615

The second book from Mindy Kaling is arguably better. While the first was more about Mindy herself, this book was more insightful about the Hollywood machine while simultaneously being a self-help book.

Voltron: Legendary Defender

I think I found my new favorite animated show with this reboot of the 1980s classic. The show does a great job of freshening up the characters while still paying homage to the original and the Japanese anime the show adapted. It’s got great humor and stories and I can’t wait for season 2 in January!

Honorable Mentions: Power Rangers Dino Super Charge, Archie comics, Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley, Showrunners: The Art of Running a TV Show by Tara Bennett, Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers: Pink

Leave a Reply

