Writing and Scrapping:Why You Shouldn’t Be Afraid to Junk Your Original Ideas

I am in the process of writing a novel.

Really, it was leading to this after years of publishing articles, writing in this blog, and years of my mom asking why I haven’t written a novel or made a movie. When you have all these factors, it’s time to finally do something about it.

And I’m remembering why I haven’t written one as I look at my designated notebook filled with pen scratching and different pages dedicated to plot revisions. The actual book itself is notably blank with the exception of a summary. All of this proving that a novel can not be done in a few weeks and assuming this position:

https://vine.co/v/hz1VPKmuIup/embed/postcard

It was at this point that I realized the importance of scrapping and letting go of your first ideas. The truth is that sometimes your first ideas are terrible. Maybe they’re terrible altogether or it’s too big too soon. Maybe  it’s not event that bad of an idea, but you have a better idea. Either way, look at what you have and see what can be scrapped and/or replaced.

For my own novel, I originally had five characters with a mentor figure following them. The problem was that one of the characters was essentially a potted plant at worst and a character only to be used for another’s development. He was the kind of character that no one would feel too bad if he died and would serve better as a character for another’s flashback.

It’s hard to admit to yourself that your first idea is terrible. To admit that you were dreaming a tad too big and need to be brought down a notch. It’s hard to do, but you need to do so to make the best book.

I’ll be doing poststhat will be tagged “J.L. Writes a Novel” where you can follow my progress as I finish a novel before 2016 ends.

2 thoughts on “Writing and Scrapping:Why You Shouldn’t Be Afraid to Junk Your Original Ideas

Leave a Reply

