J.L. Explores NYC Eats Part III: We’re so Fancy!

And so we come to the last part of NYC Eats series with a trip to Blue Fin. This was the first time I’ve heard of the restaurant and one of the few times that I can remember going to a fancy place, but the pictures on the site looked nice so I was game. 

When we first walked into the restaurant, I couldn’t help but admire the atmosphere of the restaurant. The blue color and dim lighting made for a calming environment perfect for  a celebration. The fact we were one of two or three parties in the restaurant only added to the effect.

Our appetizer were the shrimp dumplings and truly we had hit peak fancy. There were only five dumplings on the table and relatively small. They were delicious though with a strong flavor of shrimp in each bite.

20150830_184043

Then came our main course (fancy restaurant calls for fancy words). I’ll be honest, I had no idea what I wanted. You would think a menu with only a page would make things easier, but it didn’t as I tried to search on my phone what some of the items even were. Eventually, I decided to pick the charred octopus from the appetizer menu with a side order of truffle fries.

Best choice ever if I do say so myself.

Blue FIn's Charred Octopus

The charred Spanish octopus was on a chickpea ragout with cerignola olives (told you I had to Google some stuff) and was delicious all the way through. The olives added a nice bitter flavor to it that complemented the seasoned octopus.

Blue Fin's Truffle Fries

The fries, on the other hand, were okay. After trying Lay’s Truffly Fries Chips, I wanted to try the real thing. It was definitely close but also made me wonder what the big deal was about the dish. That said, I think Blue Fin did a good job with the fries. They were crisp without being overly fried and had a nice amount of seasoning.

But the highlight of the entire meal had to be the dessert.

My dad ordered a peach crumb pie that looked like the embodiment of all that is good in fall. I’m not sure how it tasted, but it certainly looked good and my dad enjoyed himself.

Blue Fin Peach Cobbler

The rest of us ordered the molten lava cake with caramelized bananas and cappuccino malt crunch ice cream.

Blue Fin Molten Lava Cake

First off, that plating. I came for fancy plating and I got fancy plating. They even got a triangle piece of chocolate on the ice cream.

But of course, it tasted great. The molten lava cake lived up to its name as the cake bursted with the warm, chocolatey goodness. The ice cream served nicely to cool off the dessert and a nice coffee flavor to it. Wasn’t too big on the malt balls (at least they looked like malt balls) inside but it was still good. The bananas seemed almost out of place until you dipped it in the chocolate. I’m not a big caramel and chocolate fan, but those bananas worked really well with the cake.

On top of that, the service was amazing. We had a nice man who was majoring in civil engineering and a host who recommended the store, The Drama Book Shop, to me. We didn’t have time for it on this trip, but it’s definitely on my  list of places to visit for next time.

And so closes another chapter in my traveling life. New York City was a blast and I feel like I just scratched the surface of this amazing city.

IMG_3459

So readers, tell me what are your favorite places to eat in the NYC?

Leave a Reply

