J.L. Explores NYC Eats Part I: I’m a Blasphemous Southerner

Since graduating from college, I always made it a mission of mine to seek out new foods and restaurants. Wouldn’t you know it, my family and I visited NYC a while ago and I got to experience some amazing foods. There were a few mainstream places like a quick trip to Starbucks, but for the most part, we kept to the local spots. 

First off, Virgil’s Barbecue.

Now, this may seem strange for a Texan to want to have BBQ from anywhere else but a Southern state. But we had just gotten to our hotel and hadn’t eaten for nearly half the day. Lo and behold, Virgil’s was the closest place and at that point I was ready for anything. Even Yankee barbecue.

Coming to this place, I might have to re-evaluate whether BBQ is only in the domain of the South.  Our chicken wings appetizer was probably some of the best chicken wings I’ve had in a while. It had a nice spicy kick without being too overwhelming.

Virgil's Chicken Wings

Everyone’s got to have a wing!

Our entrees came out after and let me say I was shocked. I had ordered a salad thinking I should start the trip off with lighter fare and try to keep to being healthy. The plan went right out the window when our server brought this salad with a mountain of meat. Beef, pork, and chicken piled high on top of lettuce and cheese melting into the meat. It was an excellent salad but definitely won’t be putting it in the healthy category.

Virgil's BBQ Salad

My attempt at being “healthy”

Since our diets were out the window at this point, dessert was on the menu. We decided to at least split one slice of pecan pie and banana pudding. Growing up with my mom who loved to put more pecans in her pie, the pie was a bit too sweet for my taste. The banana pudding, however, was a wonderful surprise. It didn’t taste like the cheap banana pudding you would get from your school’s cafeteria.

Banana Pudding from Virgil's

Quite the presentation!

All in all, it was a great way to start off the vacation.

Leave a Reply

