Mediterranean Quesadilla Recipe (Vegetarian)

I, J.L., must confess that I have become a full-fledged foodie. I mean, when you’re subscribed to numerous YouTube channels and have a folder with bookmarked recipes it’s time to admit the fact. And what better way to celebrate it then with a recipe.

The recipe was inspired  and adapted from Fit Men Cook’s quesadilla. I decided to take it one step further and go full Mediterranean by adding spinach and black olives with tzatziki sauce on the side. Best choice ever and one of my favorite lunches I’ve made for myself!

A disclaimer: I am not a chef. I don’t have all the technical jargon for what I’m doing (I like to call my method the “Throw whatever you can find that seems Mediterranean” method but it’s too long of a name). This post was done on the fly and I had to estimate how much of each ingredient I put in my quesadilla because I eye a lot of my ingredients so feel free to adjust where you see fit.

With that out of the way, let’s try cooking!

20150812_114952

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tablespoons of  black olives
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup of spinach
  • 1/4 cup of red onions, sliced
  • 1/4 cup of green bell pepper, sliced
  • Two cloves of garlic, minced
  • Two small tortillas (I used a corn/whole wheat blend)
  • 2 Tablespoons of Hummus (I used a premade roasted red bell pepper hummus)
  • 1 to 2 Tablespoons of bleu cheese (feta will work as well)

Tzatziki Sauce (Adjust to your liking):

  • 1 Cup of  plain greek yogurt (I bought a single serving of yogurt)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 Cup of diced cucumbers
  • 1/4 Teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 Teaspoon dill weed
  • 1/4 Teaspoon parsley
  • 1/4 Teaspoon cilantro (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Slice up your onions and peppers and mince the garlic. I would make sure the pan is heated up with an oil of your choice while you’re mincing and slicing
  2. Saute all of your vegetables until the spinach are wilted and the pepper and onions are a little brown and a bit floppy (if there’s a technical term, I have no idea)
  3. Take your two tortillas and spread your hummus on both of them.
  4. Take your sauteed veggies and place them on one of the tortillas. Cover with your cheese of choice
  5. Top with the other tortilla and put the quesadilla on your greased up pan. Cook for about four to five minutes on each side
  6. Once both sides are golden brown, serve on a plate.

Instructions for Tzatziki sauce:

  1. Peel and dice your cucumbers into square pieces (I recommend doing this while you’re cutting your veggies for the quesadilla
  2. Put your yogurt into a bowl/container and mix the cucumbers and spices. Taste as you mix  and adjust accordingly.
  3. Serve the sauce on the side and there you go!

While this is a vegetarian recipe, you can easily add some sliced chicken to it if you want some meat or go full vegan and skip the cheese and sauce.

One thought on “Mediterranean Quesadilla Recipe (Vegetarian)

Leave a Reply

