Where Do You See Yourself in the Ten Years?

Question mark

Question mark (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This has got be one of the most commonly asked questions I received during an interview. This question seems to inhabit most interviews given towards students, recent graduates or simply young people. In my own personal experience, when I am asked that question I want to say:”I just graduated and just trying to get a job so I can move out of my parents’ place. You want me to think about where I’ll be in 10 years? I’m trying to figure out where I’ll be in one year!”

But I never do. My suggestions for how to answer this question is think about where you want to work at, what position do you want and what industry you want to work in. If you can get at least 2 out of 3 you should be good.

The question also gives me pause because it reads like a philosophical question, such as whether the chicken or egg came first. This question has been asked to me in both formal and informal situations and it has never really concerned me until I graduated college and forced to realize that in the eyes of the real world, I was an adult. Like I stated in the Millennials having too many options post, I feel as if we had too many options and subsequently when we are asked that question most of us freeze. Even the greatest of planners among us have to pause and think about the answer, myself included.

So what is my answer? I know for certain I want to be a leader. In 10 years, I want to be a manager in whatever I choose because it’s not in my personality to just sit around and wait for someone else to lead. I want to be in the communications industry, merging public relations, social media and video together in a business. I want to make an impact in someone’s life and through film have people share their voice and I want to be the one who brings that voice to the forefront of everyone’s minds.

I guess that’s where I see myself in 10 years.

Leave a Reply

