Too Many Flavors: When Millenials Have Too Many Options

English: English ice cream parlour

English: English ice cream parlour (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As a millennial, I get the feeling that generations before us see us as unfocused, not having a clear goal or even an idea of what we want to do. I offer this analogy to them. Imagine you went into an ice cream parlor and you had a choice between chocolate, vanilla and strawberry. That is the situation that our parents and generations before us had to deal with. Now say it’s the present day and you go back to that same ice cream parlor. Only this time, there are now 30 different flavors, 15 types of mix-ins, 4 different sizes and a choice between a cup or a waffle cone. All of a sudden, you have no idea what to choose and it takes you longer to come to a decision. This is what has happened to millennial and will most likely happen to generations after us.Let’s say I did know what I wanted before I got to that ice cream parlor and ordered a strawberry in a small cup. But things change, maybe strawberry doesn’t taste as good as you thought it would. Maybe you should have taken up your friend’s advice and gotten the cookies ‘n’ cream because they know you like cookies in your ice cream. I was talking to one of my friends on Facebook the other day and I asked her how she was doing in grad school. She told me that she hated what she was doing and decided to move back to Texas and become a doctor, something she really wanted to do. I feel like I’m in the same boat in that I’ve always wanted to be a storyteller of sorts and thought that film would be the best medium. Going through college and taking classes within and outside of my major, I began to find myself interested in fields like public relations and management. While I have no regrets getting my degree in Radio-Television-Film, I do wish I had taken the time to receive a dual degree in public relations or another degree. Then I wouldn’t feel like I’m just now figuring out what I want to do.

We have too many options for what to do with our lives and most of us don’t have any sort of guidance to steer us to a path that could make us successful and/or happy. My suggestion to those of you reading this that are still in high school or just starting college, really take the time to assess what you want to do with your life. Ask others in the fields you’re looking at, take classes that you never thought to do and never be afraid if what you want to do ends up being different from what you thought you were supposed to do (like wanting to education policy for science classes rather than researching science). And even if you did graduate from college, it’s never too late to take a community college course or try out a different job.  For me, I’m looking at the option of going back to school and either getting a masters in advertising or just getting another bachelor’s and this time I’m going to be more open. It’s time for me to try the other flavors.

One thought on “Too Many Flavors: When Millenials Have Too Many Options

Leave a Reply

