But I Thought I Was This Type!

I’ve decided to take a different test of Myers-Briggs and see if the results were any different from the ones I took back in January. Apparently, I’m an ESTJ.

So why do I still have ENTJ as a type for myself? I feel like this type is the closest to what I am.(Also doesn’t help that the score was 1% Sensitive, so make of that what you will.) I’m pretty extraverted, I plan things out, and emotions can be a hard thing for me to deal with in myself and others. Intuitive and Sensitive could simply just be a matter of the situation for me. I hate theoretical stuff like Astronomy and Physics but always look at the details of a television show or comic book I read.  There’s also the chance my type could change as I get older, where I might have to become more detailed at my job. I have a theory that the E, I, T, and F parts of the spectrum won’t change or at least not that much in our lives. You can tell when someone would rather be at home than at a party with people they don’t know. There’s always a sign when someone might have forgotten to take others’ feelings into account.

What I’m getting at is that while the test is important to take, it’s not the end of the world if your type changes if you take a test.

3 thoughts on “But I Thought I Was This Type!

  1. younglifeperception says:

    Hi,
    I have been doing a lot of research on the MBTI personality theory lately and I have found some information that may help you out. Based on what you said in your description, you hate theoretical stuff but you are very good at looking for details. This indicates that you have a preference for details which most likely translates into you having a preference for sensing. Hating theoretical stuff means you do not have a preference for abstract logic (thoughts do not exist as concrete objects in the real world) which is a classic indicator of NOT having a preference intuition. It sounds very likely that ESTJ fits you better. This is not a bad or good thing, It just means that you prefer to pull in information through your 5 senses rather than pull in information by looking at several possibilities and connecting the dots in between them to learn. Our personality type is set into stone in our first 3 to 5 years of life. From then on out, it stays the same but certain aspects of it grow over time. These functions that develop later on in life will determine how you are seen in the external world. Keep finding out who you are and you will happy you did later on in life. Great post!

    • J.Lee says:

      Thanks for the comment!
      I think I might be one of those whose half of each. I tend to be a big picture person but it’s more focused on things that I can perceive with my five senses. That’s probably why I like analyzing media versus thinking about dark matter.

  2. younglifeperception says:

    There are 4 temperaments when concerning MBTI. I refer to these temperaments as Traditionalists, Experiencers, Rationalists and Idealists. There are different names for some of these temperaments but regardless of the name, they still have the same outlook on life. In each temperament, there are 4 personalities. 4 temperaments multiplied by 4 personalities in each temperament comes out to be 16 personalities total.

    This information will help you in this way:
    An ESTJ is part of the traditionalist temperament. This temperament is focused on goals, structure, authority and has a main focus of the past. They prefer a life situation where they have a sense of belonging and duty. Motivations are determined by things in the concrete world that can be experienced by the senses instead of the abstract world of thoughts, ideas and theories. This temperament also prefers to be part of a team of people dealing with concrete-real world situations so that a goal may be reached.

    An ENTJ is part of the Rationalist Temperament. This type is long-term and big picture oriented. They rely on their creative thoughts to connect dots of seemingly unrelated topics and then proceed to learn from that abstract connection. Rationalists working with theoretical data usually is very comfortable situation for them. They desire mastery, competency and consistency and dislike incompetence and being told what to think. For this temperament, being told what to do and being told what to think are two different things entirely.

    Temperaments show us a zoomed out look from a single personality. They show us immediate family personalities within the temperaments and then the cousin personalities of the other temperaments. If you have trouble finding out one letter of your personality, it is usually helpful to zoom out and compare the two temperaments you are looking at. When you find your personality, you find your temperament as well. What ever temperament sounds more like you is going to contain your personality.

    If you feel the traditionalist temperament fits you better, you are most likely an ESTJ. If you feel the Rationalist temperament fits you better, you are most likely an ENTJ.

    Remember that it is easy to choose a personality that sounds cool to us and we may even identify that for our personality, but what we think we are and what we are actually are two entirely separate things. The whole point is to find out our personalities so that we may excel in life. Humans are imperfect and there is no way to ever be perfect so that means there is ALWAYS room for improvement. We can always learn more about ourselves and the personality type is just the tip of the iceberg. That is what we have been studying lately and it really is an awesome thing. Keep up with what you are doing and thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

