In-State, Out-of-State, or Abroad?

Since graduating from college a week ago, I’ve been actively looking for job and I’ve got a few interviews lined up. One of the major questions that comes up when I’m searching for a job is “Should I go looking for job beyond my state? Out of my country?”. This is a legitimate question, especially if you’re in a location that might not be the best place for jobs that pertains to your degree. For me, I certainly don’t restrict any of the 50 states from my job search. I’ve applied to jobs in Arizona, California, Maryland and other various places. Now I can understand why some people are hesitant to look for a job outside of their state. One reason is money. It will cost money to relocate to a location, especially if it isn’t a border state. There’s also the fact that some states have a higher cost of living than others. The second major reason is moving away far away from your family and friends. This tends to be the case for those who have lived their entire lives in one area. I can relate to the 2nd reason since why I’m not averse to living in  a different area, being so physically apart from my family is a little disconcerting. But I figure this is just a step in being my own adult and my parents encouraged me to go beyond my state if there’s a good job somewhere else.

Now going abroad for a job is a much more difficult decision to make. Unlike other countries, in the United States we have so many opportunities in our 50 states that we almost don’t need to go abroad. But I believe that unless your funds are insufficient, Americans shouldn’t rule out working abroad and even if funds aren’t good you should try. There are many opportunities like jobs where you teach English in Japan or Korea. LinkedIn also has job postings from various places around the world. I recently sent in an inquiry to a PR company in London. Though before you do serious searching, find out what kind of salary you need to be able to live there, what kind of work visa would you need, and how are you going to pay for taxes. In other words, research, research, research.

No matter where you want to go, it’s your decision but for me, I’ll go with the Dr. Seuss book, “Oh the Places You’ll Go!” as my inspiration. Now let me see what positions are available in Canada.

Leave a Reply

